The Real McKenzies – Westwinds

image

So thanks to Zune, I am able to listen to the new release of The Real McKenzies Westwinds. This post is coming the day after they played in St Louis and I unfortunately missed the show though I did get to spend time with my youngest who was away for 4 days – no regrets there.

Anyway, back to the review. This Scots Canadian band has been rocking for years and Westwinds is their tenth album that I feel is more polished and not as raw. It still rocks hard with great rock and bagpipes.

The track listing is:
1. The Tempest
2. Fools Road
3. I Do What I Want
4. The Message
5. My Luck is So Bad
6. The Massacre of Glencoe
7. The Bluenose
8. Burnout
9. Halloween
10. Hi Lily
11. My Head is Filled With Music
12. Barrett’s Privateers
13. Pipe Solo

The sing highlights for me are The Tempest, My Luck is So Bad, My Head is Filled With Music

The bagpipe launching The Tempest brings you right in and sets the tone for the rest of the album. My Luck is So Bad speaks to me on a very personal level giving my DWI and divorce, hitting rock bottom my luck can only go up from here. My Head is Filled With Music goes straight to the core with the beat and lyrics about a soldier charging into the beaches hearing nothing but music.

For the most part the album is a bit slower than their others, bit still highly enjoyable. The songs seem to be more introspective which may come with age. Go out and give it a listen to!

Slainte!

Leave a Reply

