Dropkick Murphys Signed and Sealed in Blood Review

dkm signed and sealed in bloodThe eagerly awaited Dropkick Murphys Signed and Sealed in Blood just came out. I took a half day off work so I could pick up the physical CD in addition to my digital download using my Xbox Music subscription. I have been listening to it just about non-stop since 8 this morning. While I certainly don’t expect any of the Murphys to read my little blog, it is not for them I write this for, but for myself and the fans of Celtic Punk and Rock.

From the opening of “The Boys Are Back” you are catapulted with the raucous speed DKM is known for and singing along with the chorus. “Prisoners Song” continues the rapid rocking bringing about hard foot stomping and head banging with the DKM trademark style. “Rose Tattoo” is my favorite on the album, with the clear traditional influence being borrowed but not overpowering. While instrumentally not their hardest rocking song, the vocals are extremely powerful. “Burn” ramps the instruments back up and delivers a frantically rocking song. “Jimmy Collins Wake” is an ode to a famed baseball player of the Boston Americans. It is another foot taper though not as fast as the other songs on the album. “The Seasons Upon Us” is a Christmas song about a dysfunctional family of misfits and annoying relatives. “The Battle Rages On” brings the speed back up after the last two slower songs. “Don’t Tear Us Apart” is another melodic song that when you really listen has some deep lyrics. “My Hero” is another ode, this time to on ode and praise to the “old man”. “Out On The Town” is fun hopping song, sure to get you moving! “Out of Our Heads” is another chorus (or should I say shouting) joining song. The album ends with “End of The Night”, bringing a slower pace and well placed as the last song. The song is a great farewell song in my opinion, joining the likes “The Parting Glass” and “Health To The Company”.

This year looks to be a great year of Celtic Punk and Rock releases with Lexington Field and Sir Reg’s albums set to come out within the next few months and DKM has set the bar high for this upcoming year. Signed and Sealed in Blood is trademark Dropkick Murphys – good solid lyrics, great instrumentation and punk rough vocals. I did find the beginning of the album to be the strongest with the first four songs being my favorite. The latter 7 songs were all solid but lacking the magic I found in the beginning. I would be quite surprised not to see this album on the end of year Top Of lists come December.

Track listing:

  1. The Boys Are Back
  2. Prisoners Song
  3. Rose Tattoo
  4. Burn
  5. Jimmy Collins Wake
  6. The Seasons Upon Us
  7. The Battle Rages On
  8. Don’t Tear Us Apart
  9. My Hero
  10. Out On The Town
  11. Out of Our Heads
  12. End of The Night



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s