The Lagan – Where’s Your Messiah Now?

The Lagan coverThe Lagan, a hard rocking six piece Celtic Punk band from London are releasing their debut album Where’s Your Messiah Now on St Patty’s day and I was lucky to get a preview release. I have to say that in listening to it, I had to keep checking that this was their freshman release. The album showcases their craft of music and vocals plus the amount of original songs has made for brilliant album that is fun to listen and get lift your musical spirit. The album contains 10 tracks, six of which are original, three standards and one hybrid.

“Staring The Devil In The Eye” starts out the album with grand fanfare with the drums leading it in followed by tin whistles before ramping up and really rocking. The song is one of several nautical in nature that speaks to the old wind sailor in me. Catchy lyrics and taking the themes from traditions and creating a new story paired with the rocking music make for a fun song. “Sailin’ East” is another nautical themed (yeah I know smart asses, the title makes that clear) that segues nicely yet remains it own song and not as a copy of “Staring The Devil In The Eye”. The third track, “Work Away” is my favorite track on the album. The melody and chorus are heartbreaking yet uplifting – a song for the fighter in all of us. Even pounding away, there is always the hope for relief without giving up. “Star of The County Down” is well done, the intro being my favorite part. “Guinness ‘n’ Chips” is my second favorite track, the mix of whistle and fiddle and pace for a fun song, that oddly in all my listening to, I did not hear any reference to Guinness. Every time this song has come in, I would stop doing whatever it was doing and start to get into the song – don’t plan on getting any work done during this song! “Sunny Day In Southie” is a fun song, though given my lifestyle choice of sobriety, does not speak to me as it would have previously, but I’m sure a lot of people will take this up for their drinking anthem. “I’ll Tell Me Ma” is a nice rendition of a classic tune that has been gruffed up in parts for them to the song their own. “The Good Ship Lagan” is the hybrid, it has the music from “Drunken Sailor” to original lyrics. A fun song and one that was enjoyable listening to their tailoring of the song. “Same Shite Different Day” rounds out my top three songs. Gruff vocals, hard lyrics that has the nautical tone of their other songs. Finishing up the album is “The Fields of Anthenry”, the song that it seems every Celtic band has to have in their playlist for someone in the audience. The song is well crafted, capturing the sorrow of the song very well.

The Lagan enter what will be a crowded field of top albums for the year and will easily be a contender for top slots come December and January. Their original songs are fun and well crafted and given this is their debut album, the overall quality is outstanding. Keep it up boys and don’t keep us waiting for your follow-up!

Track listing:

  1. Staring The Devil In The Eye
  2. Sailin’ East
  3. Work Away
  4. Star Of The County Down
  5. Guinness ‘n’ Chips
  6. Sunny Day In Southie
  7. I’ll Tell Me Ma
  8. The Good Ship Lagan
  9. Same Shite Different Night
  10. The Fields of Athenry